Our face shape is created by the underlying bone and muscle structure. The skin is the largest living organ of the body and therefore should be looked after and kept well presented.

The skin is underlined by the skull,

A skull is composed of two main parts – the cranium and the mandible.

The cranium is a series of joined bones, which allow for very little movement, and the mandible is the moving lower jaw.

Cranial Bones:

  • Frontal bone
  • Two parietal bones
  • Sphenoid bone

Collectively, these bones provide a solid bony wall around the brain, with only a few openings for nerves and blood vessels.

Facial Bones

The 14 bones that support the muscles and organs of the face are collectively known as our facial bones.

The facial bones consist of:

  • Mandible
  • maxillae (singular: maxilla)
  • Vomer
  • palatine bones
  • nasal bones
  • zygomatic bones
  • nasal conchae (singular: concha)
  • lacrimal bones
  • Temporal bones
  • Orbit

Facial Muscles

The facial muscles include

  • Frontalis
  • Occipitalis
  • Epicranial aponeurosis
  • Temporalis
  • Orbicularis oculi
  • Masseter
  • Splendours capitus
  • Sternocleidomastoid
  • Buccinator
  • Zygomaticus
  • Platysma